I’m Melanie O’Donnell, 24. I grew up in the Portland, Oregon suburb of Vancouver, Washington. I’m the eldest of three, I have a brother just starting UW and my sister is a sophomore in high school, so I’m a bit older than them.

I graduated form the University of Washington in 2009, with a degree in History, and had no idea what to do with it. I stayed in Seattle at the waiting job I had for most of undergrad, and tried to decide what I wanted to do. I decided on museum studies because I wanted to stay with history, and in some way educate about it, but I didn’t want to teach high school (that requires, well, being at a high school), and I didn’t what to become a professor and be required to write scholarly articles for the rest of my life. I liked museums because they kept me in the general field, and also allowed a immediate connection to the past, while also allowing a opportunity to in some why teach about the past. Little did I know that this would cause me to move to the other side of the country to attend Seton Hall!

