Maker Faire 2011


Hello everyone,

I just got back from the Maker Faire and thought I’d share some of the photos I took while I was there for those of you who couldn’t make it.

Here is the link to my picasa album that I’ve put the photos and video I took in. Please let me know if for some reason the link doesn’t work. I tried to add a caption to most of the photos but let me know if you’d like to know more about something you see.

https://picasaweb.google.com/109687426580917655488/MakerFaire2011?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCIiTtrPum8KyjAE&feat=directlink

A few of the highlights for me were:

I loved the craft section with all of the booths of amazing things for sale. I was unable to help myself from buying random handmade items such as the smiling narwhal necklace I convinced myself I needed own.

The Tin Gypsy Project booth in the craft section.
The woman at the booth, Meghann Gilligan, had created a portable darkroom to take 19th century tintypes and traveled around the country after raising funds on the website kickstarter.com

She also has a wordpress displaying her work, and documenting her travels with her portable darkroom, The Tin Gypsy. It can be found here – https://tingypsytravels.wordpress.com/

I also enjoyed the large, and driveable, metal sculpture dragon (complete with fire coming out of its mouth) called Gon KiRin – made by Ryan Doyle using recycled metal and car parts.
Here is a video of Ryan talking about the piece – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ig-DbfPoz3o

I had a great time at the Maker Faire and would love to go again in the future. It was great to see so many artists of different mediums and backgrounds from all over the country coming together, communicating, and inspiring one another as well as those attending. I also loved seeing so many younger kids excited about science and participating in the many activities and crafts available at the faire. I definitely recommend going in the future to those of you who couldn’t make it this year. Hope you all had enjoyable weekends and see you in class tomorrow.

