Resources


I’m hoping y’all operate on the “better late than never” philosophy, because I’m just now posting my resources. I’m a big believer in understanding the foundations and roots of thoughts and movements, because I think it’s the best way to trace the development of ideas over time. With that spirit in mind, the first two of my resources:
First, “The New Museum”, by John Cotton Dana. The link below connects to the goolgescholar link to the book.
http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&lr=&id=ObVCAAAAIAAJ&oi=fnd&pg=PA9&dq=john+cotton+dana&ots=0mJawQGZMR&sig=Io-wmxjc03yXxcIZ2xcBP26fc5c#v=onepage&q&f=false
I used Dana’s writings a lot when writing and Undergrad paper about the development of museum in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. He has a lot to say about museums acting as servants to the community, and about interactive and participatory learning. A lot of what he has to say goes hand in hand with The Participatory Museum.
Second, Paulo Freire’s “The Politics of Education”. Again, his stuff popped up a bunch during my undergrad, and when Simon mentioned him I couldn’t help but get into why what he’s got to say is so important. He’s got some great ideas about getting education out of the classroom, but, more importantly, he’s all about education as a form of liberation and convincing audiences to take charge of their on pedagogy. That’s something I think is incredibly useful in a museum setting. The link below directs to the SHU library’s listing for “The Politics of Education”.
http://voyager.shu.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?searchId=354&recCount=50&recPointer=8&bibId=29012
On a slightly different note, I wanted to include the AAM’s resources for dealing with art stolen/misplaced/misappropriated during the “Nazi-Era”. In the History and Theory of Museums class last week we discussed a museum currently fighting legal battles regarding stolen art, and I found out that the AAM has a “Nazi-Era Provenance Internet Portal”, which provides a database of art known to have “changed hands” during WWII. I would imagine this database would be incredibly useful for a museum researching a newly acquired, or contested, piece of art The link is below.
http://www.nepip.org/

