Social Media and Museums


So while I was poking around on twitter today, I searched for social media and museums and found an interesting article that someone tweeted. It was about a survey conducted in the UK that asked 500 people about what would make them follow or like a museum. They found out that a good portion of museum attendees are on social media sites but don’t know that museums are also on these sites. Many people follow their friend’s recommendations on sites like Facebook and Twitter but it seems apparent they aren’t suggesting museums. Does this mean that museums are just not doing a good job at using social media? I understand that this was done in the UK but I think it still is relevant in the US. I’d like to hear what you guys think about the article.

Here is the link:

http://bit.ly/oHg35g

