Brooklyn Museum— Double the Mobile Apps visit:

There are two options with mobile learning at the Brooklyn Museum. Here is a wall posting about the options:

The first is the QR codes. You start when you enter with a little tag that takes you to a website explaining the program:

I think I did something wrong, or it wasn’t working correctly, because according to my boss it is supposed to give you clues around the museum to find all of the QR codes in an order. It’s very possible I just didn’t do it right, but I couldn’t get to the directions page, so I had my own fun. I think at some point the security guards were going to call my boss and say, “We have an Egyptian intern on the loose.” I looked that crazy.

Here are the ones I found:

Now some of these did what I thought they were supposed to- redirect my phone to a page of more information about the piece. But, because there is a campaign of RajArumugam poetry, some of the QR codes were just links to poems. And some of them had nothing to do with the painting or item the QR code was under/next to. I thought that the ones that did redirect to more information were helpful and informative. The QR that redirected for The Dinner Party was the best because I could take the phone with extra information around with me when viewing the actual items.

This is what the hand out looks like at the museum for more information:

<a

The second mobile option at the Brooklyn Museum is the ultra convenient dial in for more information tour guide. Here is what the handout looks like:

I enjoyed this part the most for a few reasons:

A. The guide gives one major topic to “call in to” for each floor. And for the third floor the Egyptian gallery is highlighted. YAY!

B. It was easy. For me, this was the biggest draw for me. So simple: you call the number, and dial the four digit extension with a #. A normal person’s voice comes on and explains some extra curatorial tid-bits.

C. The hand out that I picked up was very easy to follow. And compared to the scavenger hunt that I went on with the QR codes, I would take the dial in option any day.

D. The program says that the cost of the dial in is only the minutes for the carrier, and no additional costs. The handout explains that each extra information call is no more than 2 minutes. This is a huge bonus for people as I think they won’t be turned off my the feature because it isn’t costing them anything extra.

E. I have to be honest, of the 100 of so items you can call in to, I didn’t call them all. But, the ones I did call were working, well spoken, informative, and worth the while.

I hope others can venture to Brooklyn so we can discuss and see if they could get the QR codes hunt to work!

