SOPA: Destruction of the Internet as we know it


Hey guys so it was brought to my attention by Chris that Congress is trying to pass a bill called SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act). I know this isn’t related to the class at all but I think it is important for people to know about it and stop it. It is being lobbied by the big moneymakers in Hollywood who want to stop the streaming of illegally streamed movies. Although I do believe that piracy is a terrible epidemic, the only reason the big moneymakers in Hollywood are trying to get this bill passed is so that they can make more money. The bill would essentially let the gov be able to censor websites that allow copyrighted materials to be posted. They call them rogue websites but this could also end up including Youtube and Facebook. So our favorite websites could end up being shut down because of this bill. Below I’ve posted some links for more information and a way to help stop it.

Here is a link for more information and a video that explains SOPA better:

Here is Mozilla’s efforts to try to stop SOPA:

http://www.mozilla.org/sopa

If you guys can just check this out and even do something little like email your state congressman, I would greatly appreciate it. I just want to keep the internet the way it is. We could end up losing our favorite sites and any creativity on the internet.

